- The Honest Answer: No Public Passing Score Exists
- What ACFSA Has and Hasn't Published
- How the CFSM Route Works and Where the Exam Sits
- The No-Exam CDM Route
- Preparing Without a Published Cut Score
- The Eight Course Topics You Must Master
- Fees, Renewal and Money Questions Tied to Your Score
- How to Verify Details Before You Pay
- Frequently Asked Questions
- ACFSA does not publicly disclose a CFSM passing score, so any specific percentage you see online is unverified.
- The standard route is a correspondence course ending in a proctored examination delivered through a local preceptor.
- Question count, timer, item format and pass rate are likewise undisclosed; treat third-party figures with suspicion.
- A current CDM plus the specified custody/security module is a published no-exam route, so no passing score applies there.
The Honest Answer: No Public Passing Score Exists
If you searched for a passing score for the Certified Correctional Food Systems Manager credential hoping for a clean number such as "you need 70 percent," here is the straight answer: the Association of Correctional Food Service Affiliates (ACFSA) has not published one in any source we reviewed. Not on the certification page, not in the course brochure, not in the preceptor guidelines, and not in the recertification form.
That matters because many exam-prep pages fill this gap with confident-sounding numbers. Those numbers are usually borrowed from a different credential that happens to share the same acronym, or they are simply invented. This article takes a different approach. It tells you what is verified, what is not, and how to protect yourself while the official passing standard remains undisclosed.
What ACFSA Has and Hasn't Published
It helps to separate the facts into two buckets. The first bucket is what you can rely on. The second is what you should treat as unknown until ACFSA or your preceptor tells you otherwise.
| Item | Status |
|---|---|
| Certifying organization | Association of Correctional Food Service Affiliates (ACFSA) |
| Delivery format | Correspondence course developed with Continental Management Consultants |
| Final examination | Proctored, delivered through a local preceptor |
| Course scope | Roughly 12 months and at least 80 study hours, plus field experience |
| Passing score | Not publicly disclosed |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Total, scored and unscored question counts | Not publicly disclosed |
| Exam timer | Not publicly disclosed |
| Item format (multiple choice, scenario, other) | Not publicly disclosed |
| Open-book, calculator, adaptive or remote-platform rules | Unknown |
| Official per-topic weights | Not verified |
Notice what the "80 study hours" and "12 months" figures describe: the course, not the examination itself. They tell you how long the program is designed to take, not how long you will sit for a test. Do not read them as an exam length.
If you want to understand why the missing pass rate matters for your expectations, our CFSM pass rate analysis explains what can and cannot be said from the available evidence.
How the CFSM Route Works and Where the Exam Sits
Because the passing score is hidden, the most useful thing you can do is understand the pathway that leads to the examination. The standard CFSM route is not a one-sitting test you book at a commercial testing center. It is a course-based credential.
Course first, examination at completion
The standard route is a correspondence course developed with Continental Management Consultants. You work through the materials and course tests over a period designed to run approximately 12 months, with at least 80 study hours and field experience built into the model. The proctored examination comes at course completion.
The local preceptor is the key person
No external testing vendor was verified for the CFSM. Instead, the final examination is delivered through a local preceptor. In practice, this means your preceptor is the person who can tell you how your examination will be administered, what your site's logistics look like, and how results are handled. Because the preceptor relationship is central, it is worth reading the issuer's preceptor guidelines document so you know what to ask.
Eligibility is not a fixed checklist
No universal public degree, work-year or reference requirement was verified for the standard route. Because the structure is course-based and administered through a preceptor, check specifics with ACFSA rather than assuming a prerequisite you read elsewhere. Our CFSM requirements guide covers what is and is not confirmed about eligibility.
The No-Exam CDM Route
Here is where the "passing score" question gets a twist. ACFSA publishes a separate pathway for people who already hold current Certified Dietary Manager (CDM) credentials. That route combines the current CDM with the specified custody/security module and is a published no-exam route.
If you qualify through this alternative, there is no examination to pass and therefore no cut score to worry about. It is important not to blur the two routes together. The standard course route includes a proctored examination at completion. The CDM alternative does not present itself as an examined route.
| Feature | Standard CFSM course route | CDM alternative route |
|---|---|---|
| Starting credential | None specified publicly | Current CDM required |
| Examination | Proctored exam at course completion via local preceptor | No exam |
| Custody/security component | Part of the course content | Specified custody/security module |
| Passing score relevance | Applies, but the number is undisclosed | Not applicable |
Key Takeaway
If you already hold a current CDM, ask ACFSA whether the no-exam route fits your situation before enrolling in the full course. It could change both your cost and whether a passing score matters to you at all.
Preparing Without a Published Cut Score
When you do not know the passing threshold, the sensible response is to aim for solid command of every topic rather than gaming a minimum. Because per-topic weights are also unverified, you cannot safely skip a subject on the theory that it is lightly tested.
A short, CFSM-specific way to sequence your effort follows the order of the published course highlights, front-loading the topics where a wrong answer has real operational consequences.
Foundations and menu logic
- Profession overview and menu-planning basics
- Nutrition and modified diets, since diet orders drive production
Production, HACCP and sanitation
- Receiving, storage, preparation, holding and service standards
- HACCP, warewashing and kitchen sanitation
Safety and custody
- Workplace safety
- Custody, security and working with inmates, the topic that most sets this credential apart
For a fuller approach to building a plan around these topics, see our CFSM study guide. You can also pressure-test your recall with the practice questions on our main practice test site. Note that any practice questions there are original educational material; they are not the actual examination and do not reveal its format, count, timing or passing score.
The Eight Course Topics You Must Master
ACFSA's published course highlights break the program into eight areas. These are unweighted preparation topics drawn from the issuer's course materials. They are not an official weighted or exhaustive examination blueprint, so do not read the list as telling you how many questions come from each area. For a deeper walkthrough, see our guide to all 8 CFSM content areas.
1. Introduction to the correctional foodservice profession
Understand how a correctional kitchen differs from a conventional foodservice operation.
- Role expectations for a food systems manager in a secure facility
- How institutional constraints shape daily kitchen decisions
2. Basics of menu planning
Menus in corrections balance budget, nutrition, cycle planning and facility rules.
- Cycle menus and production forecasting
- Accommodating population needs within cost limits
3. Understanding nutrition and modified diets
Modified diets carry real clinical and compliance weight in a correctional setting.
- Recognizing common therapeutic diet orders
- Keeping modified-diet production accurate and documented
4. Quantity food production practices and standards
This area follows food through receiving, storage, preparation, holding and service.
- Receiving checks and storage practices
- Safe preparation, holding and service of large batches
5. HACCP
Hazard analysis and critical control points applied to the production flow.
- Identifying hazards and critical control points
- Monitoring, corrective action and record keeping
6. Warewashing and kitchen sanitation
Cleaning and sanitizing practices that protect a large, vulnerable population.
- Warewashing procedures and verification
- Kitchen sanitation routines and schedules
7. Safety in the workplace
Preventing injuries and incidents in a high-volume production environment.
- Common kitchen hazards and prevention
- Safe equipment handling and incident awareness
8. Custody, security and working with inmates
The distinguishing subject of this credential, covering the security realities of supervising inmate workers.
- Tool, knife and equipment control
- Supervising and communicating with inmate workers safely
Because no official weights were verified, we cannot say which of these is the largest on the examination. Plan to be competent across all eight rather than betting on a favorite. Our one-page CFSM cheat sheet condenses the must-know points from each area.
Fees, Renewal and Money Questions Tied to Your Score
Many readers ask about the passing score because they want to know whether the investment is risky. The fee structure gives a partial answer, though some pricing details need confirmation.
Course pricing
The standard course package is listed at $299 for members and $374 for nonmembers, and that package includes materials and tests. For the CDM alternative, the official brochure is inconsistent: the narrative describes $299 and $374, while the form lists $149 and $199. Because these conflict, confirm the correct amount directly with ACFSA before you pay.
Renewal
Certification renews every two years and requires 24 professional-development points. The currently linked recertification form lists $35 for members and $75 for nonmembers when submitted by July 31, rising to $70 for members and $150 for nonmembers from August 1 through 31. Timing your renewal paperwork early clearly saves money. For a full breakdown, see our CFSM certification cost guide.
How to Verify Details Before You Pay
Since the key examination specifications are undisclosed, your best protection is to ask the right people the right questions in writing. Consider this short checklist before enrolling:
- Ask ACFSA whether a passing standard exists and whether it can be shared with candidates.
- Ask whether the final examination is open-book, whether calculators are allowed, and whether any remote option exists.
- Ask your preceptor how the examination is administered at your site and how results are communicated.
- Confirm which fee schedule applies to you, especially if you are considering the CDM alternative.
- Ask about retake or extension policies, since these are not covered in the public documents we reviewed.
Be equally cautious with any site, including ours, that quotes a precise CFSM cut score or timer. Details like these were not verified in the issuer's public documents. If a page gives you one, ask where it comes from.
Also check timing questions with the issuer. Because the credential is course-based, scheduling works differently from fixed testing windows; our CFSM exam dates article explains what is and is not published. And if you are still orienting yourself to the credential, what CFSM certification is and CFSM training give useful background.
Frequently Asked Questions
ACFSA has not publicly disclosed a passing score for the Certified Correctional Food Systems Manager examination. Any specific percentage you find online is unverified. Contact ACFSA or your local preceptor for the standard that applies to you.
The total, scored and unscored question counts are not publicly disclosed, and neither are the exam timer or item format. The final examination is proctored through a local preceptor at course completion.
No pass rate has been publicly disclosed by ACFSA. Be skeptical of any figure presented as official. Our pass rate article explains what the available evidence does and does not support.
ACFSA publishes a no-exam route for people with a current CDM who complete the specified custody/security module. The standard course route, by contrast, includes a proctored examination at completion, so the two should not be confused.
No dated public examination blueprint or per-topic weights were verified. The eight areas ACFSA publishes are course highlights, so prepare across all of them rather than assuming any one dominates.